Tuesday, September 1, 2015

The rest of Holland excluding North and South Holland All-team 23 member Team

I have created an all-time national team for North Holland and South Holland.  This is my all-time 23-member for players who were not born in the two provinces.  The selection are based on birthplace.

Please also view my all-time Dutch team: here.

GK: Hans Van Breukelen (Utrecht)
he started his career with FC Utrecht and then, Nottingham Forest.  He moved to PSV in 1984, where he became a star.  For the nnational team, he was a fixture since 1980.  However, he helped the Oranje to reach a major touranemt until in 1988, where they won the first ever trophy for the national team.

GK: Frans de Munck (Gelderland)
Nicknamed Black Panther because of his black hair and overall, de Munck was best remembered for his career with DOS Utrecht.  He was capped 31 times.

GK: Piet Schrijvers (Utrecht)
He was the backup keeper at both WC Finals in 1974 and 1978.  For club football, he played for DWS, FC Twente, Ajax and Zwolle.

RB: Wim Suurbier  (North Brabant)
Suurbier is considered among the best ever rightback in history.  He was the starting rightback for Oranje at the 1974 World Cup in Germany as well as the great Ajax team of the early 1970's where he played 13 seasons. He won three European Cups with Ajax in the 1970's. He also played club football in France, the USA and Hong Kong.
Wim Suurbier
CB:  Jaap Stam (Overijssel)
He was at one point the most expensive Dutch player and the most expensive defender in the world when Manchester United bought him for 10.6 million pounds.  He played for several European clubs including PSV Eindhoven, Manchester United, Lazio, A.C. Milan and Ajax. 

CB: Barry Hulshoff (Overijssel)
Hulshoff was a part of the legendary Ajax team that won three European Cups in 1971, 1972 and 1973.  He earned 12 caps for the Netherlands national football team.  He represented Holland at the WC Finals in 1974.

CB: Danny Blind (Zeeland)
Blind played for both Sparta Rotterdam and Ajax.  at Ajax, he won all three major UEFA trophies, namely the European Cup, the UEFA Cup and Cup Winners' Cup.  He was a part of the 1995 Ajax team that was considered among the best ever club team.  He picked up 42 caps.

CB: Ernie Brandts (North Brabant)
His greatest club career was spent with PSV Eindhoven, where he won the UEFA Cup in 1978.  He was the starting centre-back in the 1978 WC Finals, where Holland reached the Final.

LB: Jan Poortvliet (Zeeland)
He was a long time member of PSV Eindhoven. He played for Oranje at the WC Finals in 1978 and Euro 1980. 

CM: Willy van de Kerkhof (North Brabant)
He was a member of the 1974 World Cup team, but it was the 1978 WC Finals, where he carried the team to the Final.  His twin brother Rene was also a part of the team.  He played for FC Twente and PSV Eindhoven,

CM: Willem Van Hanegem (Zeeland)
In Holland, he was widely considered the second best Dutch player in the 1970's.  He won the European Cup with Feyenoord in 1970.  He was capped 52 times between 1968 and 1979, but he missed the WC Finals in 1978.

Willem Van Hanegem
CB/DM: Arie Haan (Groningen)
Haan won three European Cups with Ajax in the 1970's as member of that great club team.  In 1975, he moved to Anderlecht and became a part of the club's most successful team, winning two Cup Winners' Cup.  He also joined Standard Liege and reached the Final of 1982 Cup Winners' cup Final.  He later joined PSV late in his career before playing in Hong Kong. He was a key player at both WC Finals in 1974 and 1978.  in 1978, he scored two long range goals that were considered among the best ever goals at the WC Finals.

DM: Jan Wouters (Utrecht)
Wouters was a key player for Holland in the late 1980's and early 1990's. He had over 70 caps.  He won the European Championship in 1988 and also made the team of the tournament.  He was Dutch Player of the Year in 1990.  For his club career,  He played for FC Utrecht between 1980 and 1986.  In 1986, he joined Ajax, where he played until 1992.  He also played for Bayern Munich and PSV Eindhoven.

DM: Mark van Bommel (Limberg)
In Holland, his career was associated PSV, where he had two separated stints.  However, his most famous part of his career was spent with Bayern Munich. He was their first ever non-German captain.  He played 79 times for Holland and was a main player as Holland reached the Final of South Africa 2010.

RW/LW/FW: Arjen Robben (Groningen)
He was an important player for Bayern Munich's dominance in Europe as they reached three Champions' League Finals in 4 years, winning one.  For Oranje, he helped Holland to reach the WC Final in 2010 and then the semi-final in 2014. He also played with Real Madrid.

Arjen Robben

LW/RW: Marc Overmars (Gelderland)
Known for his speed, Overmars was a member of the youthful Ajax team that won the European cup in 1995. He moved to Arsenal in 1997, where he starred playing under Arsene Wenger.  He won the Double in 1997-1998.  He later moved to Barcelona and Go Ahead Eagles. His career with Oranja lasted from 1993 to 2004, and was an important player.  He won the Best Young Player Award at USA 1994. 

AM: Kees Rijvers (North Brabant)
Rijvers was considered one of the best players in Oranje's hostory before the emerge of the Golden Generation of the 1970's. He started with NAC Breda before moving to play for St.Etienne in 1950. He would have three different stints with the French club.  he also played for Feyenoord.  from 1946 to 1960, he played 33 times for Holland.

AM: Wesley Sneijder (Utrecht)
Sneijder emerged from the Ajax Academy before making to the first team in 2002.  He moved to Real Madrid in 2007, where he won a La Liga title in 2006-2007.  He also won a Champions' League title with Inter Milan in 2009-2010.  At the time of writing, he has 114 caps for Holland.  He was the star player for Holland as they reached the Final of South Africa 2010. He won the Silver Ball.  He moved to Galatasaray in 2013.

Wesley Sneijder

FW: Abe Lenstra (Friesland)
He was a club legend at SC Heerenveen in the 1950's. The club was nicknamed "Abeveen" because of his status.  For Oranje, he was capped 47 times, scoring 33 goals.  he was at one point Hollnad's all-time leading scorer.

ST: Coen Dillen (North Brabant)
Dillen spent 12 years with PSV Eindhoven.  He scored 43 goals in the 1956/1957, a goal record for a single season that still remains unbroken.  He was 5 times for Holland.

ST: Roy Makaay (Gelderland)
Makaay played for Vitesse and  CD Tenerife before becoming a big star with Deportivo La Coruna.  He helped them to win their first ever La Liga title in 1999-2000.  In 2002-2003, he scored 29 goals and became the European Golden Boot winner.  In 2003, he moved to Bayern Muinch.  He won two Bundesliga title.  For the national team, he was only capped 43 times, largely because he was playing at the same time as Dennis Bergkamp, Patrick Kuivert and Ruud Van Nistelrooy.

ST:  Marco Van Basten(Utrecht)
He was probably the second best Dutch player and among the best striker in football's history.  He won the Ballon d'Or three times.  He led Oranje to the victory at Euro 1988 scoring 5 goals at the tournament.  He started his career with Ajax.  He also won two European Cups with AC Milan.  

Marco Van Basten

ST: Ruud Van Nistelrooy(North Brabant)
He was a prolific goal scorer. He won the top scorer award in three different European domestic leagues. He started with PSV Eindhoven.  He spent 5 seasons with Manchester United where he was voted as their best player twice.  With Real Madrid, he finished second as the European Golden Boot.
Ruud Van Nistelrooy

Honorable Mention
Joris Mathijsen(North Brabant), Wilfred Bouma (North Brabant), Rene Van de Kerkhof, Simon Tahamata, Berry van Aerle (North Brabant), Jasper Cillessen (Gelderland)

Starting lineup

No comments:

Post a Comment