Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Bavaria Greatest all-team 23-member team

Bavaria is the home of  FC Bayern Munich, 1. FC Nuremberg, FC Augsburg and TSV 1860 München.  If there were an All-Time World Cup, Bavaria could create a team that is as good as any country in the world and this would be 23 players I would bring to the tournament. 

Please also see my All-Time World Cup Team Index.
North Rhine-Westphalia
East German Players after 1990
German Americans/American Germans
German Turks 
German-born Players Capped by Other National Teams
Germany All-Time Team After Beckenbauer

Germany All-Time Team before 1972

GK: Sepp Maier
Nicknamed "The cat from Anzing", Maier was considered one of the greatest goalkeeper ever in the 1970's. He had 95 caps for West Germany, winning the European Championship in 1972 and the World Cup at home in 1974. For club football, he played his entire career with Bayern Munich. He also won three straight European Cups for Bayern Munich.  He was German Footballer of the Year: 1975, 1977, 1978.

GK: Hans Jakob 
He was the goalkeeper for Germany at World Cup 1934 and 1938.

GK: Raimond Aumann
He started his career was a backup to  Jean-Marie Pfaff at bayern Munich.  He went to Italia 1990.

RB:  Stefan Reuter
He played 68 times between 1987 and 1998.  He was the 1990's generation that won the WC in 1990 and the European Championship in 1996.  He played with Bayern Munich, Juventus and Borussia Dortmund. He won the Champions' League in 1996 with Borussia Dortmund.

RB/CB:  Markus Babbel
He was a part of the Euro 1996 team.  He played for Bayern Munich, Hamburger SV, Liverpool and Blackburn Rovers.

SW/CM: Franz Beckenbauer
He was one of the best ever player in history.  Known as Der Kaiser, he was credited with revolutionizing the sweeper position.  Twice selected European Footballer of the Year, Beckenbauer appeared 103 times for West Germany and played in three FIFA World Cups, winning the WC in 1974 and the European Championship in 1972.  He won three straight European Cup with Bayern Munich in 1974, 1975 and 1976.

CB: Hans-Georg Schwarzenbeck
He was the center-back for both West Germany and Bayern Munich during the 1970's.  He won the European Championship in 1972 and the WC in 1974.  For Bayern Munich, he won the European Cup 3 times.
He played his entire career with with FC Bayern Munich. He won seven Bundesliga titles.   He was voted as one of greatest players in Bayern Munich's history.  He was the starting sweeper for West Germany at Italia 1990.

RB/LB/DM: Philipp Lahm
Lahm was the captain of the 2014 World Cup winning team. He had 113 capos for Germany from 2004 to 2014.  For club football, he played his entire career with Bayern Munich, except for a loan spell with VfB Stuttgart. He also won the treble in 2013 when Bayern Munich won the Champions' League, the German Cup and the Bundesliga on the same year.  He was included in the World Cup team of the tournament in 2006 and 2010.  
Philipp Lahm

LB/CM: Paul Breitner 
He was the first player to score a goal at two different WC Final match.  He won the European Championship in 1972 and then, a the World Cup in 1974. He spent most of his career with Bayern Muinch and went to play for Real Madrid in Spain.

DM/CB: Ludwig Goldbrunner
He went to the WC in 1938.  He spent his entire career with Bayern Munich, winning the German title in 1932.  He was considered to be one of Bayern's greatest players. 

Throughout his career, he has played for Bayern Munich, Newcastle United, Liverpool, and Manchester City.  He played for Germany between 1997 and 2005, and went to all major tournaments during the span.
Haller was one of the best midfielders in the world in the 1960's.  In 1966, he helped West Germany to reach the WC Final in 1966, forming one of the best midfield of the tournament.  He also went to Chile in 1962 and Mexico in 1970.  He started with Augsburg.  He was also known for his stints in Italy, playing for Bologna and Juventus.

CM: Bastian Schweinsteiger
He was an important player for both club and country.  He was capped 121 times. He went to three European Championships and as many World Cups, including their victory at the 2014 FIFA World Cup. Schweinsteiger is the youth product of Bayern Munich.  He won the 2013 Champions' league title with Bayern Munich. Late in his career, he played for Manchester United and Chicago Fire.

He moved to Aston Villa as a youth player.  He started his career in England with them.  Later, he played for Stuttgart, Lazio, West Ham, Wolfsburg and Everton.  He went to the WC in 2006 and Euro 2008.

He played for Germany in the 1934 World Cup and the 1938 World Cup. In total, he made 65 appearances and scored 31 goals for the national team. Lehner was a member of the Breslau Eleven that beat Denmark 8–0 in Breslau in 1937  

Schuster was the star of the Euro 1980 winning team, but disagreed with the German Football Association and seldom played for West Germany after the tournament.  He was a star at La Liga in the 1980's, playing for Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid. He later played for Bayer Leverkusen.

CM: Lothar Matthaus
Captaining the West German team in winning the WC in 1990.  He was the European Player of the Year and the first ever World Player of the year in 1990. He played in five FIFA World Cups (1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 1998), a record for an outfield player, and holds the record for the most World Cup matches played by a single player (25 games). He also won the Euro 1980 in Italy, and played in the 1984, 1988, and 2000 European Championships.
Lothar Matthaus
AM: Felix Magath
He was the son of an American GI and a German woman.  He played for Hamburger between 1976 and 1986, winning the European Cup in 1983. He was a part of the great West German national team of the 1980's, playing in Euro 1980, Spain 1982 and Mexico 1986.

FW: Mario Gotze
He scored the winning goal at the Final of Brazil 2014.  He started his career with Borussia Dortmund, where he played under Jurgen Klopp.  In 2013, he moved to Bayern Munich and became the most expensive German ever.

FW: Thomas Muller
He made his professional debut the season before South Africa 2010 with Bayern Munich.   In South Africa, he won the Golden Boot as the top scorer.  Between the two WC Finals, Bayern Munich won one Champions' league and went to the Final two other times.  At Brazil 2014, he won Silver Boot by scoring 5 goals.

ST: Karl-Heinz Riedle
Riedle was a key member of the Die Mannschaft in the 1990's.  He won the WC in 1990, and went to Euro 1992 and USA 1994.  He was known as the backup strikers to Jurgen Klinsmann and Rudi Voller.  His club career was best remembered playing for Lazio and Borussia Dortmund.  He won the Champions' League in 1997 with Borussia Dortmund. 

ST: Gerd Muller
"Der Bomber" was widely considered to be the best striker in history. He scored 68 goals in 62 matches for Germany.  He scored 365 goals in 427 Bundesliga appearance, mostly with Bayern Muinch.  He won the WC in 1974 and the European Championship in 1972.  He won three straight European Cup with Bayern Munich in 1974, 1975 and 1976. He was the European Player of the Year in 1970.
Gerd Muller

Honorable Mention
CB: Holger Badstuber, LB/CB: Hans Pflügler and DM: Lars Bender.

Starting lineup 
The team has too many central midfielders.  I have to sit Haller and Schuster.




No comments:

Post a Comment